Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Sisters of the Quilt trilogy by Cindy Woodsmall

 Rate this review here: Please Click

Once again I have read an amazing Amish romance by Cindy Woodsmall and again I am thoroughly entertained.  I got this trilogy in one book and would recommend you do so to.  They are much better as one big book rather than three individual books since the first book has a melancholy ending, the second ending is a little better, and the last book's ending is awesome.

"When the Heart Cries" is the first book and a very heart wrenching beginning to the trilogy.  Hannah's world is all rosy with a new fiance and a bright future until one person's selfish actions bring her to her knees.  Can she find hope for her future despite a community and circumstances that are against her?

In "When the Morning Comes", Hannah tries to make it in the English world since her own Amish community abandoned her when in her greatest need.  Can Hannah get through the pain of the past and live in the present or is she doomed to a lonely life of sadness?  Hannah's Amish friends also must deal with the wounds of her leaving and try to move on in this interesting sequel.

Lastly in this trilogy is the page turning story named "When the Soul Mends".  Hannah returns to her community to help her sister, in her illness, and friend, in his loss, only to come face to face with the man she never wanted to see again.  Answers and confrontations long overdue finally take place but only in God's time can healing truly happen.  Hannah's biggest decision lies waiting for her answer but only with God's guidance can she know what is the right way for her.

I very much enjoyed these romance novels and learning about the Amish lifestyle.  The situation presented in the first story and the pain of the aftermath, is something many girls can relate to even if they are not Amish.  This book is encouraging in knowing that even if your world falls apart, God can bring good out of the bad, and give you a hope for the future.  The other romances going on between major characters and the multiple points of view make for a well written and worth reading book for older teen and adult Christian romance lovers.

(I received this book for free from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review and this opinion is my own.)

Read chapter one here: Click here
Buy book here:

No comments:

Post a Comment